Quique Setién: "Feelings leave a stronger mark than results" – Chessbase News

An interview For Quique Setién, chess does not merely serve as an intellectual pose. In fact, calling the game a hobby does not do justice to an activity that provoked him sleepless nights when he was younger. The head coach of “Unión Deportiva Las Palmas” had a long and successful career as a footballer, even getting to represent […]

Gibraltar Chess Festival 2020: Round 6 LIVE – Chessbase News

Gibraltar Chess Festival 2020: Round 6 LIVE – Chessbase News

by ChessBase 1/26/2020 – Live games and commentary with GM David Howell and Fiona Steil-Antoni from 14:00 UTC (15:00 CET, 9:00 EST). Five grandmasters led with a perfect 3/3 as the GMs began to face each other on the top boards, but only one winner emerged from that group to become the sole […]

Caruana Wins Tata Steel Chess With Round To Spare – Chess.com

On Saturday Fabiano Caruana won his first ever Tata Steel Chess tournament, and did so with a round to spare. The American grandmaster beat Jan-Krzysztof Duda and saw his main rival Magnus Carlsen draw his game. The challengers group hasn’t been decided yet as top seed David Anton suffered a surprising loss to IM Max Warmerdam, who hadn’t won a […]

Ju Wenjun Defends Women's World Championship Title – Chess.com

Ju Wenjun has successfully defended her title against the challenger Alexandra Goryachkina in the 2020 women’s world championship in Vladivostok, Russia, following a dramatic 2.5-1.5 finish in the rapid tiebreaks. After her game-12 win, momentum seemed to be on Goryachkina’s side, as she built a commanding advantage with Black. Just as things seemed dire, the Chinese grandmaster escaped as […]

1 2 3 110